Department of Philosophy

Year of Establishment: 1960
Head of the Department: MR. TARANATH MAHANTA
Total No. of approved faculty strength: 3

Faculties of the Department: 

NameDesignationYear of JoiningQualification
Mr. Taranath MahantaAssociate Professor & HoD1993M.A., M.PHIL., (Pursuing Ph.d)
Dr. Debajit BaruahAssistant Professor2021M.A. P.HD. (NET)

Brief introduction to the department:  

The department was started at the very inception of the college in 1960. Late Lalit Chandra Borah was the founder Head of the Department. Late Chandra Kr. Sarmah, served the department as its head for a long period and opened Major in the subject when a third teacher joined in the department in the year 2000. Now the Department of the Philosophy boasts higher enrollment of students. The results of the department are consistently satisfactory.