Department of Physics

Year of Establishment: 1970
Head of the Department: Mrs. Smritirekha Borah
Total no. of approved faculty strength: 07

Faculties of the department (Regular): Individual profile attached in different sheet

Sl.No.NameDesignationYear ofJoiningQualification
1Mrs. Smritirekha BorahAssociate Professor &HoD1994M.Sc.
2Mr. Ajoy Kumar DeyAssistant Professor2000M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed.
3Dr. Lalit BaruahAssistant Professor2013M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D.,SLET
4Dr. Debashis SarmahAssistant Professor2015M.Sc., Ph.D., NET
5Mr. Rupam TalukdarAssistant Professor2015M.Sc. SLET
6Dr. Pratikshya BezbaruahAssistant Professor2020M.Sc., Ph.D., SET

List of laboratory staff

  1. Mr. Jatin Barkataki
  2. Mr. Anil Goswami
  3. Mr. Subhan Gogoi

Brief introduction to the department

The department of Physics was established in the year 1970. The degree course in Physics (Pass Course) was started in the year 1976-1977.Major in Physics course in undergraduate level was introduced from the academic year 1984-85. First HoD of the department was Dr. Gagan Chandra Baruah. Since its inception, the department has been successful to cater to the academic needs of the students in an expansive area, especially on the north bank of the Brahmaputra.

Academic Activites :

The Department has been trying to achieve the goal by performing the following activities:

  • Holding of Theory and Practical Classes regularly for the students having Major and General in the degree course.
  • Periodical evaluation of students by holding class tests by the Department apart from those done by the college.
  • Organizations of seminars and popular talks on various Physics related topics from time to time.
  • Publication of Wall Magazine particularly in collaboration with the students.