Department of Political Science

Year of Establishment: 1960
Head of the Department: Mrs. LEENA HAZARIKA
Total No. of approved faculty strength: 3

Faculties of the department (Regular)

Sl. No.NameDesignationYear of JoiningQualification
1Mrs. Leena HazarikaAssociate Professor1996M.A., M. Phil.
2.Mrs. Happy DeuriAssistant Professor2010M.A., PGDHRM, UGC NET
3Ms. Deepjyoti NathAssistant Professor2018M.A., M Phil

Brief introduction to the Department: 

            The Department of Political Science was established in the year 1960 along with the establishment of the college itself. The department started its journey initially with offering general courses. However, at present, the department offers Major and Pass courses in Political Science as well as the Higher Secondary courses.
                  The Department of Political Science has evolved as one of the best Departments of the college with more than 90% of pass percentage in Honours every year. The prime objective of the course structure of the department is to inculcate a sense of political consciousness among the students and to give the students an ideal platform for debates and discussions to cultivate democratic spirit. The various courses offered by the department incorporate Political Theories, Indian Constitution and Political Processes, Public Administration, International Relations, Human rights, Feminism, and many other contemporary political issues and ideologies. There are a good number of Alumni who have been serving the country in various academic and administrative government as well as private jobs.