Students Union

Paramount requirement for the prosperity and well-being of any academic institute is undoubtedly exploitation of the prospect of the support, talent and ideas of the student population in the desired perspective. Students are always the prime beneficiaries in all the activities Biswanath College does. Most importantly, students constitute the major stakeholder in the Biswanath College’s growth. The college relentlessly strives to build a relation of mutual respect and inculcate a sense of pride amongst the students for their own college, and, therefore, it has a strong students’ body called Biswanath College Students’ Union (BCSU), which is elected by the students of the college every year through voting process abiding Lyngdoh Committee recommendations. 

Biswanath College Students’ Union has always actively participated in all round development of the College. The major activities by the Students Union during an academic year are:

  1. Celebration of World Environment Day.
  2. Organisation of Freshmen Social.
  3. Organisation of the State Level Sadananda Chaliha Memorial Elocution Competition and Nojibur Rahman Memorial Quiz Competition.
  4. Celebration of Tithi of Sri Sri Sankardeva and Sri Sri Madhavdeva.
  5. Celebration of Saraswati Puja.
  6. Celebration of Mother Tongue Day.
  7. Celebration of National Science Day. 
  8. Participation in Gauhati University Inter College Youth Festival and in Sports Activities.
  9. Organisation of Annual College Week.
  10. Participation in the Gauhati University Inter College tournaments.
  11. Performance of street plays by students inside and outside the college campus to create awareness about the burning issues of the society. There is the representation of students in Academic—aild—Administrative Committees of the college. General Secretary and the President.

Students Union 2021-22
Students Union 2020-21

Biswanath College Students Union 2021-22

  1. President:- Nayan Jyoti Gowala
  2. Vice-President:- Palash Saikia
  3. General Secretary:- Kushal Sarmah
  4. Asst. General Secretary:- Nazbin Sultana
  5. Cultural Secretary:- Lakhya Pratim Bharadwaj
  6. Magazine Secretary:- Tapti Duti Borah
  7. Debatę & Dicourses:- Pankaj Keot
  8. Festival & Social Service Secretary:- Subham Paul
  9. Major Game Secretary:- Junti Shekh
  10. Minor Game Secretary:- Utpal Saikia
  11. Boys Common Room Secretary:- Krishna Goutam
  12. Girls Common Room Secretary:- Susmita Mishra
  13. Gymnasium Secretary:- Tashan Boro

Nayan Jyoti Gowala


Kushal Sarmah

General Secretary

Lakhya Pratim Bharadwaj

Cultural Secretary

Utpal Saikia

Minor Game Secretary

Tapti Duti Borah

Magazine Secretary

Krishna Goutam

Boys Common Room Secretary

Tashan Boro

Gymnasium Secretary

Palash Saikia

Vice President

Nazbin Sultana

Assistant General Secretary

Junti Shekh

Major Game Secretary

Subham Paul

Festival & Social Service Secretary

Pankaj Keot

Secretary Debate and Discourses

Susmita Mishra

Girls Common Room Secretary