Department of Zoology

Year of Establishment: 1970
Head of the Department: Dr. Biswajit Sarmah
Total no. of approved faculty strength: 06

Faculties of the department (Regular): 

Sl.No.NameDesignationYear ofJoiningQualification
2Dr. Biswajit SarmahAssistant Professor & HoD2016M.Sc., Ph.D.
3Dr. Rahul SarmaAssistant Professor2020M.Sc., Ph.D.
4Dr. Sunayana GoswamiAssistant Professor2020M.Sc., Ph.D.
5Miss. Sibasree HojaisaAssistant Professor2020M.Sc. 

Number of Non teaching staff/ bearer : Sanctioned-1, Non Sanctioned-2

  1. Pramod Gogoi (Sanctioned)
  2. Bhimlal Bhuyan (Non-sanctioned)
  3. Bhaskar Das (Non-sanctioned)

Brief introduction to the department

        The Department of Zoology, one among the oldest departments of the prestigious institute Biswanath College, was established on 28th November in the year 1970. It was inaugurated along with other science departments by Late Mohendra Mohan Choudhry, Chief Minister of Assam (1970-1972). The department began functioning with only Higher Secondary Science course (formerly referred to as Pre-University Course) in a temporary hall. With the introduction of Undergraduate course (1986-87) and with Prof. Pratap Kr Borah as the first Head of The Department, the department then shifted in 1992 to the current permanent building and has been growing since then.

             The department as of today houses properly equipped laboratory, departmental library and a zoological museum and is also responsible for the management of the Bio-Tech Hub of the College. The department has a brilliant past and has immensely grown with active participation in various activities, with the most recent being the collaboration of the Zoology Department with The Zoological Society of Assam. The Department strives to provide quality education to the students and also works for their all round development.

Name of Programs/ Courses offered:

  • Two Year H.S (Sc) Course
  • Three Year Undergraduate Course in Zoology (B.Sc – Honours and General)